‘Accidental’ Mitzvahs

‘Accidental’ Mitzvahs.

 

‘Accidental’ Mitzvahs

Posted Saturday, Feb 16 2013 11:06pm in Chabad News

By: Molly Resnick

 

Two weeks ago I found myself at the International Conference of Chabad Shluchos in Crown Heights running a program together with my friend Rivka Kotlarsky for 120 Guests of Shluchos – many of them not yet especially observant. On Motzei Shabbos, while ascending the elevator of the Jewish Children’s Museum – where we had organized an elegant melave malkah banquet – I suddenly saw the woman next to me point in my direction and say to a third woman, “That’s the person you’re looking for.”

“Oh, you’re in charge of the Shluchos Program?” the lady asked me.

“No,” I said, “I’m one of the women in charge of the Guest of Shluchos program. If you want the Shluchos program, you’ll have to walk a block and a half where the main program is taking place.”

“I don’t want to walk,” she said. She was holding 25 beautifully embroidered challah covers that her husband – the rabbi of the David Citadel Hotel in Jerusalem – had asked her to distribute among the shluchos as a promotion for the hotel.