What do you do when someone sets your neighborhood on fire?

Inspiration from Zion: This is a Love Story

One week after my city was set on fire, I’m having a hard time writing about what happened. It’s different when something traumatic happens to you.

I don’t even have a full picture of the day in my head. It’s like scenes in a play, disjointed blips and in between, blank.

Last week, before the fire:

“I have to water the garden. Everything is dry as bone. The plants will die.”

My house is surrounded by greenery that makes the area seem tranquil, although we are actually just a few steps away from one of the main centers of Haifa.

In the beginning of last week, looking at the garden I saw thirsty plants, pitifully shriveled from the too dry weather.

On Thursday I saw a death trap.

Suspicion (Wednesday):

Fires in Zichron Ya’acov, a small town, 30 minutes down the road.

Suspicions of terrorist acts of arson were in…

View original post 3,359 more words

