25 New ‘Dead Sea Scrolls’ Revealed

Menashe's Blog

By Owen Jarus, Live Science Contributor | October 10, 2016 07:46am ET

 25 New 'Dead Sea Scrolls' Revealed

This scroll fragment preserves parts of the Book of Leviticus, in which God promises to reward the people of Israel if they observe the Sabbath and obey the 10 commandments.

Credit: copyright The Schøyen Collection, Oslo and London, MS 4611

More than 25 previously unpublished “Dead Sea Scroll” fragments, dating back 2,000 years and holding text from the Hebrew Bible, have been brought to light, their contents detailed in two new books.

The various scroll fragments record parts of the books of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Deuteronomy, Samuel, Ruth, Kings, Micah, Nehemiah, Jeremiah, Joel, Joshua, Judges, Proverbs, Numbers, Psalms, Ezekiel and Jonah. The Qumran caves ― where the Dead Sea Scrolls were first discovered ― had yet to yield any fragments from the Book of Nehemiah; if this newly revealed fragment is authenticated it would be the first.

View original post 1,271 more words

%d bloggers like this: