My Pop Pop: A Hero Story For Memorial Day

Orange Street News

IMG_20160528_092117127

May 30, 2016

By Hilde Kate Lysiak

Today is Memorial Day and I am thinking of my Pop Pop John Thrash. He is a war hero whose plane was shot down in World War Two.

Pop Pop is my hero. I am very grateful. He will always be my hero.

Here the story about what happened to him on March 15, 1945

“Our target was Oranienburg (about 2o miles northwest of Berlin). Shortly after the bomb drop, I saw black anti-aircraft smoke burst approximately 200 yards closer at our level. Our pilot, Charles H. Carpenter, told me to see what damage we had. I got on my walk around oxygen bottle and went through the bomb bay and the radio room to access the damage. Our waste gunner, Walter Ahl, was lying face up and dead. His whole right side was blown off. There was a large hole in the…

View original post 238 more words

