Support group offers solace to aging Holocaust survivors

Montreal Gazette

At 92, Eva Bass is fiercely independent. “I live on my own. I manage without help,” she says. But Bass’s face crumbles when she recalls how her mother, sister and aunt were murdered in Auschwitz, the Nazi concentration camp where Bass was imprisoned during the Holocaust.

Notorious Nazi doctor Josef Mengele sent the three women to the gas chambers almost immediately after they arrived in Auschwitz. “I still feel it today when my mother started to cry,” said Bass. “Her last words were to me. She said: ‘My dear child! My dear child!’ ”

Every Tuesday morning since 1997, Bass has been attending a drop-in group for Holocaust survivors. The two-and-a-half-hour sessions are held at the Cummings Centre, a seniors centre in Côte-des-Neiges, and facilitated by social worker Myra Giberovitch, herself a daughter of Holocaust survivors.

“I come here because I know the people here and they know me,” said…

View original post 1,237 more words

