The Eternal Jew

The Young Survivors

The most horrific and upsetting images I have ever seen were from the BBC World at War programme about the Holocaust. The walking skeletons with their empty eyes and the piles of skin and bones that were once living people being moved about by farm machinery in the concentration camps. I was 16 years old and on Israel Tour with my youth club and we were in a classroom at Yad Vashem, the museum of the Holocaust. I have never been able to erase those memories but I have developed a trigger response and if my brain thinks that there is a possibility of me seeing an image like that again, my hands are on standby to shield my eyes.

My trigger response was alerted this week as I sat down to watch The Eternal Jew, a Nazi propaganda film made in 1940, as part of my research…

View original post 437 more words

