National Post | Full Comment

A follower on Twitter sent me this strange video of a woman on the Montreal Métro screaming at fellow passengers and giving them the middle finger for daring to address her in a language other than French; it’s a safe assumption that the offending tongue was English.

Now, at first glance, you might think that it’s just a morbidly fascinating video of a disturbed individual incoherently ranting about nonsense on public transit when she should be getting treatment in a mental institution (thanks again for the deinstitutionalisation plan, Brian Mulroney). But I choose to read a bit more into this.

My friend Barbara Kay recently argued that “mentally disturbed people often take ‘reasons’ for their paranoia from vibes in the general atmosphere.” I knew Barbara was onto something, but I wasn’t totally convinced of her “vibes” argument until I saw this video.

Having government tell the population, “here, we speak…

View original post 527 more words

